News & Press: ISBA News & Events

Indiana State Bar Association welcomes new board officers, members

Friday, September 29, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Carissa Long
Share |

News Release

September 29, 2017


Indiana State Bar Association welcomes new board officers, members


INDIANAPOLIS (Sept. 29, 2017) – Andi M. Metzel, Indianapolis, assumed the office of president of the Indiana State Bar Association for 2017-18 at the Association’s fall meeting in Indianapolis on Sept. 29. Andi succeeds Mitch M. Heppenheimer, South Bend, who now will serve as immediate past president on the Association’s 25-member Board of Governors. J. Todd Spurgeon, New Albany, advanced to the office of president-elect, and Leslie C. Henderzahs, Fishers, was elected vice president.


The president appointed the following officers to the Board of Governors:


  • Secretary – Terry L. Harrell, Indianapolis
  • Treasurer – Josh S. Tatum, Indianapolis
  • Counsel to the President – Marianne M. Owen, Lafayette


The following members were elected to the Board of Governors (2017-19 term):


  • Hon. Tim A. Baker, Indianapolis (Chair-Elect, House of Delegates)
  • Donna J. Bays, Zionsville
  • Hon. Caryl A. Dill, Indianapolis
  • Julie R. Glade, Merrillville
  • Sara McClammer, Indianapolis
  • Scott E. Shockley, Muncie
  • Susan E. Trent, Fort Wayne
  • Charlotte Weasterhaus-Renfrow, Indianapolis


Founded in 1896, the Indiana State Bar Association (ISBA) is the single largest legal organization in the state. With nearly 12,000 members, the ISBA serves and advocates on behalf of its members, their clients and the public interest as the independent voice of the legal profession. The ISBA’s office is located in downtown Indianapolis. For more information about the State Bar, visit


Media Contact: Carissa Long, Director of Public Relations & Social Media, ISBA, 800.266.2581,