Indiana CLE requirements can be difficult to keep track of. Though they are mandated and monitored by the Office of Admissions & Continuing Education (ACE/the Commission for CLE), the Indiana State Bar Association is here to help you navigate the ins and outs. Talk to our CLE team at firstname.lastname@example.org, or review our brief summary below.
Who is "in charge" of CLE?
A common misconception is that the Indiana State Bar Association mandates and monitors CLE requirements. This is incorrect. The ISBA provides CLE courses and, as many other CLE providers do, submits credit on your behalf after completing an ISBA-sponsored CLE. However, all Indiana CLE is overseen by the Office of Admissions & Continuing Education (ACE/the Commission for CLE). Contact ACE for the latest and most up-to-date rules and processes:
Checking your CLE Hours
Indiana CLE requirements are mandated and monitored by the Office of Admissions & Continuing Education (ACE/the Commission for CLE). Your CLE credit record can be checked on the Indiana Supreme Court's Attorney Portal.
Indiana CLE Requirements
Attorneys and judges are required to attend at least 6 hours of approved CLE per year and at least 36 hours of approved CLE per three-year cycle. Also, attorneys and judges are required to take at least 3 hours of ethics credit anytime within the three-year cycle.
Indiana’s CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys
Additionally, newly admitted attorneys are required to attend an approved, 6 hour "Applied Professionalism" program in lieu of the ethics requirement in their first three-year cycle. For more information on this requirement, click here.
Non-legal subject matter (NLS) credits
NLS courses are courses that are not substantively legal, but enhance your competence in your individual practice. An attorney may report a maximum of 12 hours of NLS credit per three-year cycle.
An attorney may report any or all of the 12 allowable NLS hours in a single course or a given year. NLS credit may NOT be completed electronically as distance learning.
Distance education courses
Distance education courses may account for up to 18 hours of an attorney’s CLE requirements per 3-year cycle. These courses do not require a student to be in the same location as the instructor and do not require an attendant to be at the learning site to monitor your attendance. An attorney may report any or all of the 18 allowable distance education hours in a single course or a given year. State Level Judicial Officers are allowed a maximum of 18 hours per three-year cycle. Browse the ISBA's on-demand CLE library
, purchase the course of your selection, and watch it any time through the expiration date listed in the event description.
Questions you may have
"I recently attended an ISBA course. Why isn’t that credit on my record?"
As required by ACE/the Commission for CLE, credits from ISBA CLEs are reported within 30 days of the seminar. Payment in full for the seminar is required for CLE credit reporting. Please allow an additional 30 days for processing by the ACE/the Commission for CLE for CLE once credits have been reported by the ISBA. Please note: If you do not turn in your CLE credit claim form within 30 days of an ISBA-sponsored CLE, you will be required to submit your attendance for credit on your own and pay the $25 late fee issued by the ACE/the Commission for CLE.
"I attended an ISBA course but need the credit in another state. What do I do?"
ISBA CLE courses are approved for credit in Indiana only. Individuals seeking credit in other states are responsible for submitting the course for approval to the respective crediting organization. ISBA staff is happy to provide you with the necessary documentation for requesting credit in another state. Talk to our CLE team at email@example.com.