News & Press: ISBA News & Events

Michael E. Tolbert inducted as president of the Indiana State Bar Association

Friday, October 9, 2020  
Share |

Indianapolis (Oct. 9, 2020) – Michael E. Tolbert of Tolbert & Tolbert was inducted as president of the Indiana State Bar Association today during the association’s Annual Meeting.

Tolbert and his wife, Shelice Tolbert, launched Tolbert & Tolbert law firm in Gary, Ind. in 2015 as a faith-based law firm. Tolbert’s practice is focused in litigation. He has served as the president of the Lake County Bar Association, the James C. Kimbrough Bar Association (twice), and the Porter County Inns of Court, respectively. In 2010, he was the recipient of the 20 Under 40 Award given by the Northwest Indiana Times publication “BusINess.”

“Even more so than ever, we must work together to find solutions to the problems faced by Indiana lawyers as a result of the pandemic,” said Tolbert. “The foremost priority of my presidency will be leveraging the ISBA’s vast resources as a statewide connector of lawyers, the courts, and community partners to help the practice of law and each lawyer’s respective community emerge stronger.”

Tolbert succeeds Leslie Craig Henderzahs, a partner at Church Church Hittle + Antrim, in Fishers, Indiana.

“Michael brings a contagious energy for the legal community and passion that, combined with his keen knowledge of business and the law, will be key characteristics in ensuring the Indiana State Bar Association remains the leading voice for our profession.” Henderzahs said. 
Clayton C. Miller of Clayton Miller Law, P.C. in Indianapolis, assumes the role as ISBA president-elect, and Amy Noe Dudas of Dudas Law in Richmond, Ind. was elected vice president during today’s member assembly.

ISBA’s new leadership team, as inducted by members during the ISBA Annual Meeting is:


President: Michael E. Tolbert, Gary
President-Elect: Clayton C. Miller, Indianapolis
Vice President: Amy Noe Dudas, Richmond
Secretary: Renee Ortega, Hammond
Treasurer: James Dillon, Merrillville
Counsel to the President: Shontrai Irving, Hammond


1st District: Jacquelyn S. Pillar, Crown Point
2nd District: Zachary Lightner, Auburn
3rd District: Mag. Cristal Brisco, Mishawaka
4th District: Douglas R. Adelsperger, Fort Wayne
5th District: Kyle B. Madeville, Lafayette
6th District: Nathan “Scott” Smith, Noblesville
7th District: Emily Storm-Smith, Indianapolis
8th District: Laura “Katie” Boren, Evansville
9th District: Gregory “Greg” Fifer, Jeffersonville
10th District: Adrienne E. Rines, Marion
11th District:

  • Angka E. Hinshaw, Indianapolis
  • Charles F. Miller, Indianapolis
  • Jon Laramore, Indianapolis

At-Large District:

  • Elizabeth A. Bellin, Elkhart
  • Freedom Smith, Indianapolis

Past President: Leslie Craig Henderzahs, Noblesville
House of Delegates:

  • Michael J. Jasaitis, Crown Point, Chair
  • Hon. Holly M. Harvey, Bloomington, Vice Chair  

Young Lawyers Chair Section: Sara McClammer, Indianapolis