News & Press: ISBA News & Events

Indiana State Bar Association Leadership Development Academy graduates 25 lawyers

Wednesday, June 6, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Carissa Long
Share |

News Release
June 6, 2018

Indiana State Bar Association Leadership Development Academy graduates 25 lawyers

INDIANAPOLIS (June 6, 2018) – The Indiana State Bar Association (ISBA) Leadership Development Academy class of 2018 convened for its final session and graduation May 18 in Jeffersonville. The Academy is a statewide leadership program established to empower and develop lawyers to be informed, committed and involved so that they may fill significant leadership roles in local and state bar associations, local communities and organizations and to serve as role models in matters of ethics and professionalism.

The 25 members participated in five sessions featuring professional facilitators and prominent speakers from various disciplines to inform participants about leadership principles and techniques, the importance of effective leaders in organizations to maximize efficiency and effectiveness, and the challenges and rewards of leadership in action.

Members of the 2018 Leadership Development Academy include:

  • Justin A. Allen, Indianapolis, Plews Shadley Racher & Braun

  • Kelly A. Baer, Columbus, Legal Aid-District Eleven

  • Rebecca J. Berfanger, Indianapolis, Giles & Berfanger Law

  •  Lynsey F. David, Indianapolis, Lewis Wagner

  • Kathryn E. DeWeese, Bloomington, Bunger & Robertson

  • Jeffrey A. Dunn, Indianapolis, Indiana Supreme Court

  • Matthew M. Gardlik, Indianapolis, Woodard Emhardt Moriarty McNett & Henry

  • Alexandria M. Hanauer, Indianapolis, Indiana Supreme Court

  • John A. Henry, Indianapolis, Indiana Education Employment Relations Board

  • Sarah A. Hurdle, Indianapolis, Office of the Indiana Attorney General

  • Valerie D. Johnson, Indianapolis, Smith Weeden

  • Steven P. Lammers, Indianapolis, Smith Amundsen

  • Philip K. Lashutka, Indianapolis, Indiana Supreme Court

  • Richard B. Leverett, Crown Point, AT&T Indiana

  • Heather L. George Myers, Greenwood, Law Office of Heather George Myers

  • Laura A. O’Donnell, Kokomo, Bayliff Harrigan Cord Maugans & Cox

  • Alexander J. Platte, Fort Wayne, Rothberg Logan & Warsco

  • Justin O. Sorrell, Indianapolis, Riley Bennett & Egloff

  • Lauren C. Sorrell, Indianapolis, Krieg DeVault

  • Kimberly A. Spindler, Indianapolis, Indiana Office of Court Services

  • Justin A. Steele, Bloomington, The Law Office of Justin A. Steele

  • Stephanie Steele, South Bend, City of South Bend Legal Department

  • Alex R. Whitted, Columbus, Whitted Law

  • W. Kent Winingham, Indianapolis, Wilson Kehoe Winingham

  • Allyse E. Wirkkala, Indianapolis, Marion County Public Defender Agency



Founded in 1896, the Indiana State Bar Association (ISBA) is the state’s largest association serving the legal community. We help lawyers practice law less stressfully, more productively and build professional connections. The ISBA’s office is located in downtown Indianapolis. For more information about the State Bar, visit

Media Contact: Carissa Long, Director of Public Relations & Social Media, ISBA, 800.266.2581,