News & Press: ISBA News & Events

Leslie Craig Henderzahs inducted as president of the Indiana State Bar Association

Thursday, October 17, 2019  
Share |

Indianapolis (Oct. 17, 2019) – Leslie Craig Henderzahs, a partner at Church Church Hittle + Antrim, was inducted as president of the Indiana State Bar Association today during the ISBA Annual Meeting.


Henderzahs focuses her practice in civil litigation and is a Certified Family Law Specialist as certified by the Family Law Certification Board.  In 2017, she was a candidate and semi-finalist in the Judicial Nominating Commission’s interviews to select the 110th Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court. 


“The primary focus during my tenure will be working with our leadership, staff, and volunteers to position the ISBA to successfully design and execute a strategic plan,” said Henderzahs. “This includes strengthening our business practices, enhancing partnerships within the legal community, better connecting those of us located around the state, and maintaining a watchful eye on trends and challenges in the legal industry.”


As the ISBA’s fifth female president, and the first female partner and owner at CCHA, a 139 year old law firm, Henderzahs also looks forward to leading a celebration of the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment, which prohibited the states and federal government from denying women the right to vote. 


Henderzahs succeeds J. Todd Spurgeon, a partner at Kightlinger and Gray LLP in New Albany, Indiana.


“Leslie is an outstanding litigator, counselor, and businesswoman,” Spurgeon said. “She is dedicated to the ISBA, and is the perfect fit to continue leading our Association at this exciting time in our history.” 


Spurgeon will remain on the ISBA Board of Governors as immediate past president. Michael E. Tolbert of Tolbert & Tolbert LLC in Gary, Ind., assumes his role as ISBA president-elect, and Clayton C. Miller of Stoll Keenon Ogden in Indianapolis was elected vice president during today’s member assembly.


ISBA’s new leadership team, as inducted by members during the ISBA Annual Meeting is:



President: Leslie C. Henderzahs, Noblesville

President-Elect: Michael E. Tolbert, Gary

Vice President: Clayton C. Miller, Indianapolis

Secretary: Andrea K. Townsend, Indianapolis

Treasurer: Rafael A. Sanchez, Fishers

Counsel to the President: Brent R. Borg, Fishers



1st District: Jacquelyn S. Pillar, Crown Point

2nd District: Rachel A. Arndt, Rochester

3rd District: Victoria R. Wolf, South Bend

4th District: Douglas R. Adelsperger, Fort Wayne

5th District: Kyle B. Mandeville, Lafayette

6th District: Russell B. Cate, Carmel

7th District: Hon. Tammy S. Somers, Danville

8th District: J. Beau Dial, Evansville

9th District: Alyssa C.B. Cochran, New Albany

10th District: Adrienne E. Rines, Marion

11th District:

  • TyJuan L. Garrett, Indianapolis
  • Charles F. Miller, Indianapolis
  • Angka E. Hinshaw, Indianapolis

At-Large District:

  • Elizabeth A. Bellin, Elkhart
  • Joel M. Schumm, Indianapolis

Past President: J. Todd Spurgeon, New Albany

House of Delegates:

  • Judi L. Calhoun, Muncie, Chair
  • Michael J. Jasaitis, Crown Point, Vice Chair  

Young Lawyers Chair Section: Beau F. Zoeller, Louisville