News & Press: ISBA News & Events

ISBA welcomes 25 lawyers to Leadership Development Academy

Tuesday, December 12, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Carissa Long
Share |

News Release
December 12, 2017


ISBA welcomes 25 lawyers to Leadership Development Academy


INDIANAPOLIS (Dec. 12, 2017) – The Indiana State Bar Association (ISBA) today announced the Class of 2018 of its Leadership Development Academy, now entering its seventh year. The lawyers are accomplished legal practitioners who have been admitted to practice for less than 15 years. The Academy is a statewide leadership program established to empower and develop lawyers to be informed, committed and involved so that they may fill significant leadership roles in local and state bar associations, local communities and organizations and to serve as role models in matters of ethics and professionalism.


The 25 members will participate in five sessions featuring professional facilitators and prominent speakers from various disciplines to inform participants about leadership principles and techniques, the importance of effective leaders in organizations to maximize efficiency and effectiveness, and the challenges and rewards of leadership in action.


Members of the 2018 Leadership Development Academy include:

  • Justin A. Allen, Indianapolis, Plews Shadley Racher & Braun

  •  Kelly A. Baer, Columbus, Legal Aid-District Eleven

  •  Rebecca J. Berfanger, Indianapolis, Giles & Berfanger Law

  •  Lynsey F. David, Greenwood, Lewis Wagner

  •  Kathryn E. DeWeese, Bloomington, Bunger & Robertson

  •  Jeffrey A. Dunn, Indianapolis, Indiana Supreme Court

  •  Matthew M. Gardlik, Indianapolis, Woodard Emhardt Moriarty McNett & Henry

  •  Alexandria M. Hanauer, Indianapolis, Indiana Supreme Court

  •  John A. Henry, Indianapolis, Indiana Education Employment Relations Board

  •  Sarah A. Hurdle, Indianapolis, Kightlinger & Gray

  •  Valerie D. Johnson, Indianapolis, Smith Weeden

  •  Steven P. Lammers, Indianapolis, Smith Amundsen

  •  Philip K. Lashutka, Indianapolis, Indiana Supreme Court

  •  Richard B. Leverett, Gary, AT&T Indiana

  •  Heather L. George Myers, Greenwood, Law Office of Heather George Myers

  •  Laura A. O’Donnell, Kokomo, Bayliff Harrigan Cord Maugans & Cox

  •  Alexander J. Platte, Fort Wayne, Rothberg Logan & Warsco

  •  Justin O. Sorrell, Indianapolis, Riley Bennett & Egloff

  •  Lauren C. Sorrell, Indianapolis, Krieg DeVault

  •  Kimberly A. Spindler, Indianapolis, Indiana Office of Court Services

  •  Justin A. Steele, Bloomington, The Law Office of Justin A. Steele

  •  Stephanie E. Steele, South Bend, City of South Bend Legal Department

  •  Alex R. Whitted, Columbus, Whitted Law

  •  W. Kent Winingham, Indianapolis, Wilson Kehoe Winingham

  •  Allyse E. Wirkkala, Indianapolis, Marion County Public Defender Agency



Founded in 1896, the Indiana State Bar Association (ISBA) is the single largest legal organization in the state. With more than 12,000 members, the ISBA serves and advocates on behalf of its members, their clients and the public interest as the independent voice of the legal profession. The ISBA’s office is located in downtown Indianapolis. For more information about the State Bar, visit


Media Contact: Carissa Long, Director of Public Relations & Social Media, ISBA, 800.266.2581,