Career Center   |   Print Page
News & Press: ISBA News & Events

ISBA sponsors 2017 “Talk to a Lawyer Today” program

Thursday, January 5, 2017   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Carissa Long
Share |

News Release


The Indiana State Bar Association (ISBA) will sponsor “Talk to a Lawyer Today,” a pro bono program to provide free legal assistance to the underserved on Monday, Jan. 16, as an annual tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. The program is an opportunity for attorneys statewide to offer free legal consultations to members of the general public who might not otherwise be able to afford the counsel of an attorney.

In addition to the walk-in sites listed below, a statewide hotline for both English and Spanish-speaking callers will be available by calling 800.266.2581 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (EST).


The following local walk-in site locations for Jan. 16 are as follows:
District A
District A includes Jasper, Lake, Newton & Porter counties.
JASPER COUNTY: Jasper County Community Services 967 E. Leopold St., Rensselaer 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. (CST)
LAKE COUNTY: Tabernacle Baptist Church 3715 Butternut St., East Chicago 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. (CST)
West Side Leadership Academy 9th & Gerry St., Gary 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. (CST)
Lake Station-New Chicago Public Library 2007 Central Ave., Lake Station 10:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. (CST)
Lowell Public Library 1505 E. Commercial Ave., Lowell 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (CST)
NEWTON COUNTY: Morocco Community Library 205 S. West St., Morocco 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (CST)
PORTER COUNTY: Portage Township Trustee 3484 Airport Rd., Portage 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (CST)

Valparaiso University School of Law 656 S. Greenwich St., Valparaiso 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (CST)
District B
District B includes Elkhart, Marshall, Kosciusko, St. Joseph, LaPorte & Starke counties.
ST. JOSEPH COUNTY: St. Joseph County Public Library
304 S. Main St., South Bend, IN 46601  1 to 4 p.m. 
LAPORTE COUNTY: Bethany Lutheran Church
102 G St., LaPorte, IN 46350  9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
  Michigan City Public Library  100 E. 4th St., Michigan City, IN 46360 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
District C
District C includes Adams, Allen, Dekalb, Huntington, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wells & Whitley counties.
ALLEN COUNTY: Allen County Public Library 900 Library Plaza, Fort Wayne 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (EST)
HUNTINGTON COUNTY: LaFountaine Center 208 W. State St., Huntington 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (EST)
STEUBEN COUNTY: Carnegie Public Library 322 S. Wayne St., Angola 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. (EST)
A local hotline will also be available for residents in District C by calling 260.407.0917.
District D
District D includes Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clinton, Fountain, Montgomery, Parke, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Warren & White counties.
MONTGOMERY COUNTY: Crawfordsville Public Library
205 S. Washington St., Crawfordsville, IN 47933 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
TIPPECANOE COUNTY:  Legal Services Office  8 N. 3rd St., St. 102, Lafayette 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
District E
District E includes Cass, Fulton, Grant, Howard, Miami, Pulaski, Tipton & Wabash counties.
CASS COUNTY: Star Financial Grant County YMCA | 123 Sutter Way, Marion | 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
District F
District F includes Blackford, Delaware, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Jay, Madison & Randolph counties.
Elks 484 309 S. Main St., New Castle, IN 47360 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Mounds Mall
2109 S. Scatterfield Rd., Anderson, IN 46016 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
District G
District G includes Marion County.
MARION COUNTY: A statewide hotline from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for both English and Spanish-speaking callers will be available by calling 800.266.2581.
District H
District H includes Clay, Greene, Hendricks, Lawrence, Monroe, Owen & Putnam counties.
Residents in District H can utilize the statewide hotline from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for both English and Spanish-speaking callers by calling 800.266.2581.
District I
District I includes Bartholomew, Brown, Decatur, Jackson, Jennings, Johnson, Rush & Shelby counties.
BARTHOLOMEW COUNTY: Bartholomew County Public Library 536 5th St., Columbus 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Legal Aid Office - United Way Bldg. 1531 13th St., Suite G330, Columbus 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.
BROWN COUNTY: Brown County Public Library 205 Locust Lane, Nashville 5 to 7 p.m.
DECATUR COUNTY: Greensburg-Decatur County Library 1110 E. Main St., Greensburg 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.
JACKSON COUNTY: Jackson County Public Library 303 W. 2nd St., Seymour 9 to 11 a.m.
JENNINGS COUNTY: Jennings County Public Library 2375 N. State Hwy 3, North Vernon 2 to 4 p.m.
District J
District J includes Dearborn, Fayette, Franklin, Jefferson, Ohio, Ripley, Switzerland, Union & Wayne counties.
A local hotline from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. will be available for residents in District J by calling 812.537.0123.
District K
District K includes Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Knox, Martin, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vigo & Warrick counties.
A local hotline from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. (CST) will be available for residents in District K by calling 812.618.4845 or 888.594.3449.
District L
District L includes Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Orange, Scott & Washington counties.
A local hotline from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. will be available for residents in District L by calling 812.288.8002.




Founded in 1896, the Indiana State Bar Association (ISBA) is the single largest legal organization in the state. With more than 12,000 members, the ISBA serves and advocates on behalf of its members, their clients and the public interest as the independent voice of the legal profession. The ISBA’s office is located in downtown Indianapolis. For more information about the State Bar, visit


Media Contact: Carissa Long, ISBA Director of Public Relations & Social Media, 800.266.2581,


Morris A. Kelsay says...
Posted Friday, January 6, 2017
Regarding District E, Thank you for listing the site of our Talk to a Lawyer Day. But we are in Grant County, not Cass County. The Grant County event will take place at the YMCA, Marion, Grant County, Indiana from 10 am to 4 pm, 1/16/2017

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal