Career Center   |   Print Page
Committees: Women in Law
 The primary objectives of the Women in the Law Committee are:
(1) To make recommendations to the State Bar Association for action to address problems identified by the survey and report of the 1990-91 Commission on Women in the Profession.
(2) To monitor the ongoing progress of actions recommended by the Committee and approved by the House of Delegates, and to report that progress to the Board of Governors.



Holly J. Wanzer

Vice Chair
Tamara Weaver

Staff Liaison

Leah Baker



Presented at the ISBA Annual Meeting by the Women in the Law Committee


Women in the Law Recognition Award Winners

2018 - Belinda Hurtado

2017 - Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush

2016 - Frances L. Watson 

2015 - Ann C. Mackey 

2014 - Hon. Patricia Riley

2013 - Hon. Diane Schneider

2012 - Kristin Fruehwald

2011 - Hon. Melissa May                               

2010 - Michele S. Bryant                               

2009 - Hon. Sarah Evans Barker                   

2008 - Amy G. Applegate                             

2007 - Steve A. Oldham                                

2006 - Hon. Patricia J. Gifford                      

2005 - Hon. Margret G. Robb                       

2004 - Derelle Watson-Duvall                       

2003 - Don P. Campbell

2002 - Jeanne S. Miller                                  

2001 - Hon. Cecile A. Blau                           

2000 - Lauren K. Robel                                 

1999 - Jacqueline B. Ponder                          

1998 - Ann M. DeLaney                                
1997 - Hon. Addison M. Beavers                  
1996 - Hon. Randall T. Shepard                    


Women in the Law Achievement Award Winners*

2007 - Hon. Jane E. Magnus-Stinson            

2006 - Hon. V. Sue Shields                           

2005 - Kathy A. Lee                                      

2004 - Nancy H. Vaidik                                

2003 - Sue A. Shadley                                   

2002 - Abigail Lawlis Kuzma                        

2001 - Hon. Judith S. Proffitt                        

2000 - Susan K. Carpenter                             

1999 - Paula J. Sites                                       

1998 - Alecia A. DeCoudreaux                     
1997 - Hon. Viola J. Taliaferro                      
1996 - Virginia Dill McCarty             



The ISBA Women in the Law Recognition Award will be presented to an individual who: is a female attorney and has contributed to the legal profession as a whole or to a particular area of practice or a male or female attorney who has assisted in the advancement of women in the legal profession, has served as a role model or mentor, or has influenced women to pursue a career in law. 


*Prior to 2008, the Women in the Law Committee presented two annual awards, the Women in the Law Achievement Award and the Women in the Law Recognition Award.



Holly J. Wanzer
Vice Chair
Tamara L. Weaver

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal